List of Conservative MPs elected at the 1997 General Election
Biography Chronology Home Search Speeches/Statements

1997 - List of Conservative MPs elected at the 1997 General Election

Below is a complete list of the Conservative MPs elected at the 1997 General Election, held on 1 May 1997.

Elected Members of Parliament


Peter Ainsworth (Surrey East)

David Amess (Southend West)

Michael Ancram (Devizes)

James Arbuthnot (Hampshire North East)

David Atkinson (Bournemouth East)

Peter Atkinson (Hexham)


Tony Baldry (Banbury)

John Bercow (Buckingham)

Sir Paul Beresford (Mole Valley)

Crispin Blunt (Reigate)

Sir Richard Body (Holland with Boston)

Timothy Boswell (Daventry)

Peter Bottomley (Worthing West)

Virginia Bottomley (Surrey South West)

Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale)

Julian Brazier (Canterbury)

Peter Brooke (Cities of London and Westminster)

Angela Browning (Tiverton and Honiton)

Ian Bruce (Dorset South)

Simon Burns (Chelmsford West)

John Butterfill (Bournemouth West)


Bill Cash (Stone)

Sydney Chapman (Chipping Barnet)

Christopher Chope (Christchurch)

James Clappison (Hertsmere)

Alan Clark (Kensington and Chelsea)

Michael Clark (Rayleigh)

Kenneth Clarke (Rushcliffe)

Geoffrey Clifton-Brown (Cotswold)

Tim Collins (Westmorland and Lonsdale)

Michael Colvin (Romsey)

Sir Patrick Cormack (Staffordshire South)

James Cran (Beverley and Holderness)

David Curry (Skipton and Ripon)


Quentin Davies (Grantham and Stamford)

David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden)

Stephen Day (Cheadle)

Stephen Dorrell (Charnwood)

Alan Duncan (Rutland and Melton)

Iain Duncan-Smith (Chingford and Woodford Green)


Sir Peter Emery (East Devon)

Nigel Evans (Ribble Valley)


David Faber (Westbury)

Michael Fabricant (Lichfield)

Michael Fallon (Sevenoaks)

Howard Flight (Arundel and South Downs)

Eric Forth (Bromley and Chislehurst)

Sir Norman Fowler (Sutton Coldfield)

Dr. Liam Fox (Woodspring)

Christopher Fraser (Mid Dorset and North Poole)


Roger Gale (Thanet North)

Edward Garnier (Harborough)

Christopher Gill (Ludlow)

Cheryl Gillan (Chesham and Amersham)

Alastair Goodlad (Eddisbury)

Teresa Gorman (Billericay)

James Gray (Wiltshire North)

Damian Green (Ashford)

John Greenway (Ryedale)

Dominic Grieve (Beaconsfield)

John Gummer (Suffolk Coastal)


William Hague (Richmond)

Sir Archie Hamilton (Epsom and Ewell)

Philip Hammond (Runnymede and Weybridge)

Sir Alan Haselhurst (Saffron Walden)

Nick Hawkins (Surrey Heath)

John Hayes (South Holland and the Deepings)

Oliver Heald (Hertfordshire North East)

Sir Edward Heath (Old Bexley and Sidcup)

David Heathcoat-Amory (Wells)

Michael Heseltine (Henley)

Douglas Hogg (Sleaford and North Hykeham)

John Horam (Orpington)

Michael Howard (Folkestone and Hythe)

Gerald Howarth (Aldershot)

Andrew Hunter (Basingstoke)


Michael Jack (Fylde)

Robert Jackson (Wantage)

Bernard Jenkin (Essex North)

Sir Geoffrey Johnson Smith (Wealden)


Robert Key (Salisbury)

Tom King (Bridgwater)

Julie Kirkbride (Bromsgrove)


Eleanor Laing (Epping Forest)

Andrew Lansley (Cambridgeshire South)

Edward Leigh (Gainsborough)

Oliver Letwin (Dorset West)

Julian Lewis (New Forest East)

David Lidington (Aylesbury)

Peter Lilley (Hitchin and Harpenden)

Peter Lloyd (Fareham)

Michael Lord (Central Suffolk and North Ipswich)

Tim Loughton (East Worthing and Shoreham)

Peter Luff (Mid Worcestershire)

Sir Nicholas Lyell (Bedfordshire North East)


John MacGregor (Norfolk South)

Andrew MacKay (Bracknell)

David Maclean (Penrith and the Border)

Patrick McLoughlin (Derbyshire West)

Anne McIntosh (Vale of York)

Sir David Madel (Bedfordshire South West)

John Major (Huntingdon)

Humfrey Malins (Woking)

Michael Mates (Hampshire East)

Francis Maude (Horsham)

Sir Brian Mawhinney (Cambridgeshire North West)

Theresa May (Maidenhead)

Piers Merchant (Beckenham)

Malcolm Moss (Cambridgeshire North East)


Patrick Nicholls (Teignbridge)

Archie Norman (Tunbridge Wells)


Richard Ottaway (Croydon South)


Richard Page (Hertfordshire South West)

James Paice (Cambridgeshire South East)

Owen Paterson (Shropshire North)

Eric Pickles (Brentwood and Ongar)

David Prior (Norfolk North)


John Redwood (Wokingham)

Andrew Robathan (Blaby)

Laurence Robertson (Tewkesbury)

Marion Roe (Broxbourne)

David Ruffley (Bury St. Edmunds)


Nick St. Aubyn (Guildford)

Jonathan Sayeed (Mid Bedfordshire)

Gillian Shephard (Norfolk South West)

Richard Shepherd (Aldridge-Brownhills)

Sir Michael Shersby (Uxbridge)

Keith Simpson (Mid Norfolk)

Nicholas Soames (Mid Suffolk)

Caroline Spelman (Meriden)

Sir Michael Spicer (Worcestershire West)

Richard Spring (Suffolk West)

Sir John Stanley (Tonbridge and Malling)

Anthony Steen (Totnes)

Gary Streeter (Devon South West)

Desmond Swayne (New Forest West)

Robert Syms (Poole)


Sir Peter Tapsell (Louth and Horncastle)

Sir Teddy Taylor (Rochford and Southend East)

Ian Taylor (Esher and Walton)

John Taylor (Solihull)

Peter Temple-Morris (Leominster)

John Townend (Yorkshire East)

David Tredinnick (Bosworth)

Michael Trend (Windsor)

Andrew Tyrie (Chichester)


Peter Viggers (Gosport)


Robert Walter (Dorset North)

Charles Wardle (Bexhill and Battle)

Nigel Waterson (Eastbourne)

Bowen Wells (Hertford and Stortford)

Sir Raymond Whitney (Wycombe)

John Whittingdale (Maldon and East Chelmsford)

Ann Widdecombe (Maidstone and the Weald)

John Wilkinson (Ruislip, Northwood)

David Willetts (Havant)

David Wilshire (Spelthorne)

Ann Winterton (Congleton)

Nicholas Winterton (Macclesfield)

Shaun Woodward (Witney)


Tim Yeo (Suffolk South)

Sir George Young (Hampshire North West)